Skip to content ↓
St Benedict's Catholic School

St Benedict's
Catholic School


School governors provide strategic leadership and accountability in schools. Governors appoint the head teacher and deputy headteacher. In some schools the site is owned by the governing board. It is governors who hold the main responsibility for finance in schools, and it is governors who work with the headteacher to make the tough decisions about balancing resources.

Each individual governor is a member of a governing board, which is established in law as a corporate body. Individual governors may not act independently of the rest of the governing board; decisions are the joint responsibility of the governing board.  

The role of the governing board is a strategic one, its key functions are to:

  • set the aims and objectives for the school
  • set the policies for achieving those aims and objectives
  • set the targets for achieving those aims and objectives
  • monitor and evaluate the progress the school is making towards achievement of its aims and objectives
  • be a source of challenge and support to the headteacher (a critical friend)

The headteacher is responsible for the internal organisation, management and control of the school and the implementation of the strategic framework established by the governing board

Governor List

As per the Instrument of Government 2015
Disqualification: as per Regulation 20 and Schedule 6 of the Constitution Regulations

Name of Governor Appointed By From To
Fr John Warrington Foundation body or sponsor (if applicable) 01/11/2018 31/10/2022
Mr Anthony Goode Foundation body or sponsor (if applicable) 01/05/2022 30/04/2026
Mrs Luisa Martinez Foundation body or sponsor (if applicable) 01/12/2018 30/11/2022
Mrs Imogen Senior Headteacher N/A N/A
Dr Cyrille Bouche Foundation body or sponsor (if applicable) 1/5/2020 31/4/2024
Ms Clare Taylor Staff Governor  1/11/2021 1/11/2025
Mr Paul Rossi Foundation body or sponsor (if applicable) 1/5/2020 31/4/2024
Mrs Jane Southin Elected by Parents 27/09/2019 26/09/2023
Mrs Suzette De Coteau- Atuah  Foundation body or sponsor (if applicable) 1/02/2022 31/01/2026
Mrs Charlene Boyaram Foundation Body or Sponsor(if applicable) 1/08/2022 1/08/2026
Mrs Maria Dellamaestra Foundation Body or Sponsor (if applicable) 1/02/2022  31/01/2026
Mrs Sarah Farr Foundation body or Sponsor (if applicable)  1/12/2022 30/11/2026

Chair of the Governing Body: Mrs Luisa Martinez
Vice-Chair of the Governing Body: Vacant
Clerk  to the Governing Body: (Miss S Buchan)
Quorum: One half of the number of Governors in post