Skip to content ↓
St Benedict's Catholic School

St Benedict's
Catholic School


School governors provide strategic leadership and accountability in schools. Governors appoint the head teacher and deputy headteacher. In some schools the site is owned by the governing board. It is governors who hold the main responsibility for finance in schools, and it is governors who work with the headteacher to make the tough decisions about balancing resources.

Each individual governor is a member of a governing board, which is established in law as a corporate body. Individual governors may not act independently of the rest of the governing board; decisions are the joint responsibility of the governing board.  

The role of the governing board is a strategic one, its key functions are to:

  • set the aims and objectives for the school
  • set the policies for achieving those aims and objectives
  • set the targets for achieving those aims and objectives
  • monitor and evaluate the progress the school is making towards achievement of its aims and objectives
  • be a source of challenge and support to the headteacher (a critical friend)

The headteacher is responsible for the internal organisation, management and control of the school and the implementation of the strategic framework established by the governing board

Governor List

As per the Instrument of Government 2015
Disqualification: as per Regulation 20 and Schedule 6 of the Constitution Regulations

Name of Governor End of term of Office
Mr David Dawson 01/12/2021
Mrs Anne Mansfield 20/07/2020
Sister Louisa Poole 20/07/2020
Mrs Charlotte Rodwell 01/10/2017
Mr Richard Snape 31/08/2018
Mr Chris Donnachie 06/02/2019
Mr Andrew Herlihy  
Mrs Kate Pereira  
Mrs Christine Kennedy 01/05/2020
Mrs Christine Burrell 31/10/2018

Chair of the Governing Body: Mrs Anne Mansfied
Vice-Chair of the Governing Body: Mr David Dawson
Clerk  to the Governing Body: Mrs Alex Fenner (L.A. Clerk)
Quorum: One half of the number of Governors in post